Lillian's Law - Texas State Dangerous Dog Law

Austin, TX - Lillian's Law (HB 1355) is the new Texas State dangerous dog law. Under the law, the owner of a loose dog that causes injury or death can be prosecuted if the owner is found to be "criminally negligent" in failing to prevent the dog from escaping. The third-degree felony charge can bring a sentence of 2 to 10 years in prison and a $10,000 fine. If the victim dies, a dog owner can be charged with a second-degree felony, bringing up to 20 years in prison. Lillian's Law stems f… [Read full blog post]